In 1910, Sir Henry Mill Pellatt, one of Edwardian Canada’s wealthiest men, started building his famed Casa Loma in Toronto. At the same time, he also started work on his country farm and estate in King Township called Lake Marie, named after his first wife, Lady Mary. Created as a place of respite for Pellatt, his wife and their many friends, the property later was developed into an agricultural farm school by a group of Basilian leaders. And in 1942, the Augustinians established a Monastery and Retreat Centre called Marylake on the land they continue to steward today. Local author Kelly Mathews presents this fascinating story for the first time.
All are welcome to attend. Bring a friend or two!
Light refreshments are served following the meeting.
Guest Fee: $5.00
Yearly memberships are available – $40.00 for Family & $25.00 Single