Karen Cilevitz - Ward 5 Councillor

225 East Beaver Creek Rd
L4B 3P4
Richmond Hill
416 806 7582

Karen Cilevitz has lived in Richmond Hill since 2009, and is a proud Ward 5 resident elected to the Ward 5 Councillor seat in 2014, and re-elected for a second term in 2018. She has 3 adult children who live in Ontario. A lifelong volunteer and community activist, Karen served as Chair of the DDO Defenders for 6 years, leading this grassroots community advocacy group in protecting and conserving Richmond Hill’s iconic David Dunlap Observatory Campus and surrounding lands as a public legacy.

Her dedicated work on the DDO file, and her work with residents and residents’ groups defending the Town against over-development, led Karen to run for public office. She prides herself as a steward of our natural environment, working towards conservation of our greenspaces and protection of our wildlife. An avid amateur astronomer, Karen has the distinction of having a Main Belt Asteroid named in her honour – Asteroid 108382 Karencilevitz. Karen’s commitment to her residents as Richmond Hill’s Ward 5 Councillor demonstrates her dedication to public service excellence, ensuring all Ward 5 residents receive her undivided attention as their elected representative on Council.


  • Council Member, Chair – Accessibility Advisory Committee
  • Council Member, Vice-Chair – Civic Precinct Project Steering Committee
  • Council Member, Vice-Chair – David Dunlap Observatory Park Steering Committee
  • Council Member – Heritage Richmond Hill Committee
  • Council Member – Richmond Hill People Plan Task Force
  • Council Member – Richmond Hill Economic Development Committee
  • Council Member – Richmond Hill Business Leadership Council
  • Advisory Board Member – Chorus York 
  • Advisory Board Member – Richmond Hill Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Advisory Board Member – York Region Food Network
  • Municipal Advisor – Leadership Team: Pflag York Region
  • Member – Blue Dot Richmond Hill
  • Member – Clean Air Council – Clean Air Partnership
  • Member – Working Group for OMB Reform 


416 806 7582